accessibility ACCESSIBILITY

Awards Winners

Recognizing Excellence in Ontario's Ophthalmologists

On September 14, 2017, during the Annual General Meeting which was held in Ottawa, Ontario, the Eye Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (EPSO), presented awards of distinction to Dr. Iqbal Ike K. Ahmed and Dr. W. Bruce Jackson.

Innovator of the Year 

Innovator of the Year is awarded each year to a deserving ophthalmologist who exemplifies exceptional innovation and effectiveness in regards to promoting new procedures and increased access to care. 

Dr. Iqbal K. Ahmed, known to all as Dr. “Ike” Ahmed, is the recipient of the 2017 Innovator of the Year Award by the Eye Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (EPSO) in recognition of his groundbreaking work in the diagnosis and surgical treatment of highly complex eye diseases, including glaucoma and anterior segment surgical complications.  

“Dr. Ahmed is likely the most influential anterior segment surgeon in the world; we are fortunate to have him here in Ontario.”  – Dr. Jordan Cheskes, President of the Eye Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Eye Physician and Surgeon of Ontario’s Lifetime Achievement Award is presented each year to a deserving ophthalmologist whose contributions to the profession have been outstanding, and of positive and lasting quality in the provision of healthcare services.  Dr. W. Bruce Jackson was recognized for his distinguished career of service to the specialty of Ophthalmology.  

"Dr. Jackson’s contributions to the field of ophthalmology are tremendous and impossible to measure,” stated Dr. Setareh Ziai of Ottawa, ”We could not think of a more deserving recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award."

Dr. Anuj Bhargava, Dr. Kylen McReelis (past Chair), Dr. Setareh Ziai, Dr. Bruce Jackson, Dr. Jordan Cheskes (Chair)

Contact Us.We encourage you to contact us with any questions or comments you may have. Please call our office or use the quick contact form.