Fort Erie Ophthalmologist Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

The Eye Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (EPSO) recognizes excellence in Dr. Patricia Teal. Each year ophthalmologists across Ontario nominate deserving ophthalmologists whose contributions to the profession have been outstanding, and of positive and lasting quality in the provision of healthcare services.  On Saturday, February 22, 2020, the Eye Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario at…

EPSO’s Past President Receives OMA Section Service Award

The Eye Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (EPSO) recognizes a leader in ophthalmology. On Saturday, February 22, 2020, at the Annual General Meeting held in Toronto, the Eye Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (EPSO) recognized leaders in ophthalmology and presented Dr. Kylen McReelis of Peterborough with the Ontario Medical Association’s distinguished Section Service Award.  The…

OMA Brings Awareness to Wait Times Crisis in New Campaign

“People are fed up” said Dr. Whatley, OMA President, “with waiting intolerable amounts of time for procedures like hip and knee replacements and cataract surgery. It’s unacceptable.” The Not A Second Longer campaign intends to spotlight one of the major issues that burden the Ontario health care system – unacceptable wait times. Ontario’s physicians are committed to…

Canada’s health-care wait times hit new record— 21.2 weeks

The study, an annual survey of physicians from across Canada, reports a median wait time in 2017 of 21.2 weeks—the longest ever recorded. By comparison, Canadians waited 9.3 weeks in 1993 when the Fraser Institute first reported wait times for medically necessary elective treatments. Read more here:

Standing Committee on General Government – Bill 160, Strengthening Quality and Accountability for Patients Act, 2017

EPSO’s leadership petition the provincial government to ban the act of unregulated eye tattooing by anyone other than a regulated health professional. Read more here: